A TRUCK LIKE NO OTHER


Our 93 Ford Ranger

My husband’s 93 Ford Ranger is a truck like no other. I first met her when my then male companion, Mark came to pick me up for an evening outing  Mark was the most classy, gentle and interesting man I’d ever met and I was looking to get to know him better.

Mark bought the Ford Ranger for seven grand. The moment he laid eyes on her sturdy chassis, he went about to furnish her with all sorts of extras,  especially a grant  sound system to listen to his favorite rock ‘n’ roll tunes.

After we married, I became intimately acquainted with her. Her two main functions were hauling telephone books to be delivered and our PA system for our outreach ministry.  Mark and I went on a search for a good  cap to protect our equipment in inclement weather. We found a good-looking used red cap with a spider on the side.  Everywhere I parked, I was asked if I was an exterminator.   I was a cool, Christian rock n roll mama, ready to do any work for my heavenly Father!

As she was getting on years and miles, Mark continued  keeping up meticulously with oil, transmission fluid changes and other necessary upkeep repairs. He did almost all of them himself and as I watched him struggle with the work that  taxed his back, I was thankful to have such a handy and gifted husband otherwise our auto repair bills would have driven us to debt!

She was a sturdy girl and my traveling ministry cats had their own special areas they perched on during our long rides to nursing homes, hospitals and especially the board walks where we entertained passerby’s on my guitar.

My favorite feline, PeeWee knows every inch of our Ford Ranger and has her special spot on the little foldout seat in back of the passenger seat. Though the old girl has  over 3000,00 miles, she still purrs like a kitten.

If everyone pampered their Ford Ranger or any vehicle, they would get a long life and use. But I think her longevity is due to my praying and speaking blessing over her daily! Long live my 93 Ford ranger.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sonja
    Jul 30, 2011 @ 23:37:09

    Anita: Jim has a 1986 Ford Ranger. We only have 120,000 miles on ours though. It still runs really good and it’s paid for. That’s the best. Thanks for the nice story.

    Your friend,
    Sonja

    Reply

  2. anitaivetteferrer
    Aug 10, 2012 @ 02:57:54

    Well, folks, my ole girl has passed the 300,000 mark! What a gal, what a gal. Mark continues to baby her and I continue to pray God’s blessing over hear. She has picked up many strangers on the highway where I’ve prayed and blessed as well as stopped at many hospitals and nursing homes. God has truly blessed this amazing truck. FORD MOTOR company, where are you? check out our 93 FORD RANGER.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

